About Us

2020-21 Board of Directors

The Zoological Society of Milwaukee Board of Directors consists of community leaders who volunteer their time and talent in governing the organization.

Members of the Zoological Society’s Board of Directors are elected for three years to manage the Society’s affairs. They:

  • Set policies that govern the Society
  • Plan and approve goals and budgets
  • Review and evaluate progress toward goals and budgets
  • Raise funds to meet budget obligations
  • Represent the Zoological Society to the community

Board Members accept committee assignments and participate in community activities, and assist in raising funds by:

  • Joining the Platypus Circle
  • Supporting the Annual Appeal
  • Attending and/or supporting Society fund-raising events
  • Participating in capital programs
  • Making contributions to the Zoological Society through other personal gifts
  • Joining the Simba Circle


Jay McKenna, Chair
Tami Garrison, Vice Chair
Derek Tyus, Vice Chair
Maria Gonzalez Knavel, Secretary
Jon Sohn, Treasurer
Ray Wilson, Immediate Past Chair
Jodi Gibson, President & CEO


Janette Braverman
Eric Christophersen
Christine Culver
Joe Frohna
Peter Hammond
Margaret Harris
Nezih Hasanoglu
Tanya Hines
Dustin Hinton
Kathy Hust
Emory Ireland
Karen Peck Katz
John Kellerman
Margaret (Peggy) C. Kelsey
Dan Kempken
Sang Kim
John Kissinger

Russ Kohl
Joe Kresl
Caroline Krider
Tony Marino
Tom Miller
Kat Morrow
Jim Olson, Associate Board Rep.
Scott Redlinger
Harold Redman
Joe Rock
Chuck Roedel
Barry Sattell
Rick Schmidt
Roger Smith
Judy Holz Stathas
David Strelitz
Wendell Willis